In this task, we were asked to create a minimalist poster for a TV show or movie. This I thought was a really interesting idea and something that I could really run with creatively. The essence of the story had to be captured but only using key icons, props, and characters.

The first idea that came into my head was a poster of a superhero movie and I landed on the idea of doing a minimalist poster of “Captain America: The First Avenger” movie.

I thought it was a good idea to do this because Captain America’s shield is something very iconic.

cap

So using Adobe Photoshop I used the shape tool I recreated Cap’s Sheild in the iconic colours. Then I added a slight amount of shading on it to make it look metallic and more like the shield that we see in the movies but also in keeping with the minimalist idea of the task.

I eventually ended up with this shield graphic. screen-shot-2017-01-15-at-13-59-51I would have liked to have added more detail to this graphic butI feel like if I added any more it wouldn’t be in keeping with the minimalist idea of the task.

All I had to do now was to add the title.

Screen Shot 2017-01-16 at 15.41.06.pngOverall I feel like the graphic worked best on its own but I wouldn’t have a poster without the title of the movie.

